Half Marathon in San Francisco this Weekend!

Standard

This weekend I’m heading to San Francisco to run my half marathon!  I’m really excited, but also kind of nervous.  I would really love to PR, but considering all the logistics I’ll have to deal with surrounding the big event, I won’t be too upset if I don’t run my best time.  I leave on an Amtrak train tomorrow morning and arrive in the city in the early afternoon.  Once I get there, I will have to find somewhere to eat lunch and then take a shuttle bus to the Race Expo to get my race bib and everything (there is no race day check-in) and then I will most likely take the shuttle back, walk to my hotel, check in there (or at least check my bag behind the counter) and then hopefully find some cool little shops and/or a museum to explore.  Following this (hopefully) relaxing/low-key day, I want to get pasta somewhere and then settle in for the night.  I have to get up early (before 6) and take a cab to the location of the 2nd half marathon shuttle bus which will drop me off at the start of the 2nd half marathon.  Once I get there, I have to check my bag, and then it’s RACE TIME (it starts at 8:30 a.m. and I’m in the 2nd wave)!!  After the race, I have to somehow find my checked bag amid the thousands of others, and then catch the Amtrak back to Davis that evening.  Needless to say the logistics of this whole enterprise are a bit complicated, and if I finish around 1 hour and 40 minutes (my time from last summer) I will be pretty satisfied.  However, if I broke 1:40 I would be ecstatic (especially with those famous San Francisco hills)!!!  I’m thinking of wearing buns for the race, but I haven’t decided for sure yet.  If I were to wear them, I think it would definitely help me channel some of my inner Ole strength and attack those massive hills!  I also think I’ll wear my New Balance racing flats that I wore for the 10k during track; they’re virtually weightless while still being supportive for my feet.  I’ll probably wait until race day to decide though, especially considering the nagging heel pain I’ve been having the past couple weeks.

Here are a few of the images that come to mind when I think of San Francisco:

Full House!

The Golden Gate Bridge!

The famous Painted Ladies Victorian houses in Alamo Square

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

